The Unmarked Road – The Good

In terms of the blogging/writing/YouTube/self-employed world, I’m a certified newbie. So I thought I would just share my thoughts so far, going through the good, the bad and the ugly.

The Good

I get to work on MY time. My time actually belongs to me. If I want to work from 3pm until 10pm I can. If I don’t feel inspired one day, but do the next; that’s ok too! After I finish writing this post I’m off for a shower. Woo! I’m an adult and totally responsible enough to organise myself (most of the time!). I don’t need some jumped up manager out to prove their authority on my back treating me like a school kid. I do not miss having designated times to eat my lunch or getting reproving looks for being 2 minutes late.

I’m happy! All people want success, but for different reasons than what they think. What they actually want is to feel different. They think success (be it money or power etc) will bring them a different feeling to what they have now – one of fulfilment. Well personally I think that’s bull-crap. If you’re not happy with what you have now, you’ll never be happy no matter how much stuff or power you get. Bearing in mind I’m not talking about people on the bread line here.

We’re having to budget for EVERYTHING (I’m talking choosing tinned tomatoes that are 11p cheaper!) and yet life has never been better or more exciting! Because I’m doing what I love. And that makes me happy. And that makes fiancé happy and you can’t put a price on that. Not knowing where life could take you is so incredibly thrilling! I have burst open the doors of opportunity and there is no limit on how far this can take me!

The jump wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Becoming ‘unplugged’ seemed like a really stupid risk at times. “You’re not returning to work? But you have a wedding to pay for! You can’t just not earn money.” That was the general consensus and also was running round and round in my head. Most people still can’t get their heads around what I’m doing. They’re too dependent on the system that promises ‘security’. I’m ok with that. Some will read this and dislike me for being so plain about how I see our society; as modern-day slavery. I don’t care, this blog isn’t for them.

Luckily for me I have quite a few friends and family members who have left the institution of working for someone else, and they have given me strength and courage to realise it’s not as irresponsible as it may appear. Having now taken the leap myself, I’m surprised by how natural it feels.

I reap all the rewards of my success. Whenever something good or positive happens, I am 100% the beneficiary of it. What I put in, I get out. I am building something for me and whatever happens on this journey, I am completely in control of future decisions that come my way, and in the direction I wish this to go.

I am not restricted. If I were to write for a company or blog for someone else, I would have to abide by their policies and fit in with their brand. Being independent, I can be completely myself, for which I will never have to apologise! I am my brand, and what’s more rewarding than being able to build on yourself, and to do that all day every day? Every other job I have done, I felt like there was a part of my soul dying because I wasn’t allowed to be sensitive or emotional. I wasn’t allowed to be shy or god forbid I didn’t understand office politics, be friends with the in-crowd or stab people in the back to get ahead!

There is so much more I could write but I am very aware of all my posts being over 500 words long, I don’t want people to get bored or stop reading so I’ll leave it there, but please do share your own experiences in the comments section below!

Dani xx

4 thoughts on “The Unmarked Road – The Good

  1. Pingback: The Unmarked Road – The Ugly | The Unmarked Road

  2. Pingback: The Unmarked Road – The Bad | The Unmarked Road

  3. I enjoy my life as a freelance writer and editor as well. There is nothing like being in control of your schedule. Well, God is really the one in control but you know what I mean. I enjoy the freedom involved with being an independent contractor. Nice article!

    Like

    • Thank you for reading and for the comment! It’s really encouraging when someone enjoys what I’ve written. Can’t wait to see where this journey will take me. Have a great day 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

