I Want To Do More – Update!

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about wanting to do more to help people. Well, here’s a little update for those of you who are interested 🙂

I get most of my inspiration from people who are or have suffered in some way, be that through a major trauma in their life or general psychological struggles. I find that those experiences make for the most interesting and complex kind of people, and it is our constant fight and struggle to be more, to be better, to not give up, that intrigues me more than anything else. The continuous strength we show in times where we think there is nothing else to give is incredible.

It was through some terrible experiences of my own that I realised that I was the only person I would ever need, and I want to help people tap into their own resources, to realise that all they need is already within them.

Since I embarked on this journey, I have had the privilege of offering more hands on support to a couple of my followers, one in particular. I want to offer this in a more obvious way on my site. Call it a ‘problem page’ or ‘agony aunt’, I will start to offer one-on-one support of all areas in which I have experience, but will not be publishing anything unless given express permission. I will be staggering out my stories in stages, for example I will start to offer support to anyone with suicidal thoughts, siting my overdose story, or those struggling with self-harm my experience with intrusive thoughts and cutting.

It will of course be a support function only. A shoulder to cry on. A place you can come to whenever you feel you need to talk to someone. A virtual coffee with a friend if you will. I have no professional training in a mental health capacity and must emphasise that no advise will be given at any point. I can only offer support siting my own experiences.

So get ready for some exciting changes on my site! I will still keep up the writing and giving general advice on how I’m designing my life, but over the coming weeks I will be divulging more stories that reference some of the things that have happened to me. Thank you for your continuing support in my attempt to carve our this unmarked road.

Let me know what you think to my idea by posting in the comment section below. I’m very intrigued to know your thoughts. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Want To Do More – Update!

  1. Well, I think the idea is awesome! It is akin to an online support group, I see.
    I think there will be those that want to air their issues and then there will be those that don’t; but as long as you have their permission, then there is nothing wrong with it and I can see it being beneficial for those wanting to participate…
    …heck, I may want to! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

