The Unmarked Road – The Ugly

When deciding if to continue with something, it is usually because the good outweighs the bad. I still am happier than I have ever been, but to every job, there are aspects you don’t enjoy. In fact to nearly everything in life there are positives as well as negatives.

I’ve done the good. I’ve done the bad. Now here’s for the ugly!

The Ugly

Me! When I used to go to work, I had a routine not unlike many others I’m sure. I got up, brushed my teeth, put on my work clothes and then put my ‘war-paint’ or ‘face’ on. I’ve never worn a lot of makeup, but I got into the habit of having it on for work every day, to the point I wasn’t comfortable without it in public at all! Now I HATE it when I have to put makeup on! But when I glance at myself in the mirror, it’s really not a very pretty picture peering back at me, especially as I’ve not seen the sun in about 6 months. I guess if I cared enough though I would put it on daily…

I get tunnel vision. Yes, I blog and write because it’s what I love doing. And I write what I write because I want to keep ensuring people don’t feel alone in their struggles with various distressing emotions. But as I posted early on today, you can start to become little too hung up on the stats. It’s ugly because it’s not why anyone writes. But at the same time, when you have poured your heart and soul on to a screen, and then publish it to the whole World, you can’t help but want some kind of feedback or acknowledgement that’s it’s been read.

Sometimes I am in real danger of letting the stats determine my mood. Good figures good day and so on. I think I largely have a grip on that now. I believe the problem was spending the majority of my time on the blog instead of my other, none ‘instant feedback’ methods of working. I loved blogging so much, I wasn’t writing my book or studying my course. Which leads me on to my next point…

I haven’t stuck to my plan. I had a very clear routine written up when I first started on this journey to becoming self-employed. I would blog two days a week, study for two others, and write my novel for another two, with one day off. How naive was I! Granted I have written a few thousand words on the book, but I have become so engrossed in my blogging (it’s so addictive!), the other two have fallen by the wayside. In fact, I hate studying so much I have only so far managed to do it for one day. One day!

New plan: Blog half of every day, write and study the other half. This I feel will help cure my tunnel vision as I start to realise the importance of my long-term goals, not short-term stats.

There are many other ugly sides to blogging, and being on-line in general! Some I have yet to experience such as trolling, but I am sure these will find me at some point!

Are there any other ugly sides to blogging/writing that you have experienced?

7 thoughts on “The Unmarked Road – The Ugly

  1. I can relate to that. The fast feedback from readers is really the nice thing about blogging. Writing and publishing a book is sooo much slower and takes so much more patience. I figure if the universe wants me to write a book, then it will help me with this. For instance, every so often someone shows up who is willing to be a test reader. That is always a little incentive to put some work into the book and make it as complete as possible at that particular point in time. But , I could still use a little more self-discipline…
    You are not alone with this. I wish you much sucess with your book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Karin, and you too! You are absolutely right, it is fun to interact through blogging while writing a book is very much an isolated pastime. It doesn’t help that wedding planning is also distracting me! I am getting a bit too excited (only just over 4 months left to go eek 🙂 ) xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you on the blogging…my followers keep growing, but I rarely if ever see a comment. So I have no idea if anyone even likes it. But since I’m blogging for me, I guess it doesn’t really matter 🙂
    Just know that I enjoy reading yours, and I’m glad I happened across it!
    Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, you’re not alone in this regard, that’s for sure. I also go through a lot of the things you’ve just written about… there’s probably no need to be so hard on yourself. If you enjoy blogging, then so be it! 🙂 Life is too short to worry about what we should be doing, it’s better to just follow your heart.

    In any case, hope this helps and that you manage to find the right balance between work and life’s pleasures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

